Make your own free website on
New Zealand 9 Papua New Guinea 1
Our Referees
Referee News
Becoming a Referee
Fixtures and Appointments
Laws of the Game
Contact Us
Register Name or Query

OFC Nations Cup 2002
Auckland, New Zealand 5-14 July

Match 6, Day Three (Sunday 7 July):
Group B - North Harbour Stadium, Albany
Final Score: New Zealand 9 Papua New Guinea 1
(Halftime 4-1 New Zealand)

All Whites cement title claims
By Peter Rees - OFC Media Officer

The All Whites romped to a big score against Papua New Guinea on Sunday
further cementing their claims for the OFC Nations Cup crown.
New Zealand Coach Mick Waitt wasnt prepared to call it the perfect win, but
he was satisfied enough with his teams convincing 9-1 thrashing of Papua
New Guinea. All Whites striker Chris Killen slotted in four goals, a hat
trick in the first half, before being replaced in the 61st minute.
Waitt said afterwards that some good goals were scored late in the match
after an average first half performance. He was particularly pleased with
the performances of Ryan Nelsen and Ivan Vicelich who he said stamped their
mark on the game and dominated the midfield.
Papua New Guinea had their chances, despite conceding several goals early in
the match. In the 35th minute, the impressive Desmond Sow was brought down
in the New Zealand penalty box after a sensational pass from Paul Komboi.
Captain Joe Aisa stepped up and made no mistake with the penalty while
Duncan Oughton copped a yellow card for his troubles.
New Zealand went into the half 4-1 up but the score could have been greater
had goalkeeper David Aua not been up to the task on several other occasions.
The deterioration in the weather conditions did not interrupt the tempo of
the game as the All Whites stepped it up after the break with Killen scoring
his fourth goal; Nelsen, Jeff Campbell and Mark Burton adding their names
also to the score sheet. The only real chance for PNG in the second stanza
was a superb solo effort from Sow in the 77th minute, which almost got the
best of All Whites goalkeeper James Bannatyne.
PNG coach Steve Cain put on a brave face during the after match press
conference, offering a philosophical explanation to what transpired. He
admitted heads were down when the goals piled up but said it was hard for
his players to compete at the level the All Whites were at taking into
consideration the near five-year gap when PNG last entered a senior
tournament. He was not going to be lulled into excuses of the weather
conditions taking his hat off to the All Whites and hinting they were in
ominous form. With the Australia Socceroos struggling to a 2-0 win over
Vanuatu the night before, his words may prove prophetic. But well have to
wait and see.


8 min - # 11 Chris Killen (New Zealand)
10 min - # 11 Chris Killen (New Zealand)
26 min - # 11 # 17 Jeff Campbell (New Zealand)
28 min - # 11 Chris Killen (New Zealand)
35 min - # 2 Joe Aisa (PNG) penalty

50 min - # 11 Chris Killen (New Zealand)
53 min - # 14 Ryan Nelsen (New Zealand)
85 min - # 17 Jeff Campbell (New Zealand)
87 min - # 7 Mark Burton (New Zealand)
90 min (stoppage time) - # 6 Raf De Gregorio (New Zealand)


New Zealand
# 18 Scott Smith for #4 Chris Zoricich (45)
# 5 Jonathan Perry for #2 Duncan Oughton (55)
#6 Raf De Gregorio for #11 Chris Killen (61)

Papua New Guinea
#12 Michael Lohai for #14 Francis Moiyap (45)
#17 Ken Gule for #11 Selan Elizah (45)
#15 Alu Kamake for #16 Yanding Tomda (57)


Yellow - #2 Duncan Oughton - NEW ZEALAND (35)
Yellow - #8 Jonah Malus - PAPUA NEW GUINEA (59)
Yellow - #2 Joe Aisa - PAPUA NEW GUINEA (79)

Team Lineups:

New Zealand: 19. James Bannatyne 2. Duncan Oughton 3. Lee Jones 4. Chris
Zoricich 7. Mark Burton 8. Aaron Lines 11. Chris Killen 14. Ryan Nelsen 15.
Ivan Vicelich 17. Jeff Campbell 20. Gerard Davies
BENCH: Jason Batty 5. Jonathan Perry 6, Raf De Gregorio 9. Paul Urlovic 10.
Chris Jackson 13. Christian Boukenooghe 16. Glen Collins 18. Gerard Davies

Coach: M. Waitt

Papua New Guinea: 20. David Aua 2. Joe Aisa 5. Paul Komboi 6. Fred Hans 7.
Desmond Sow 8. Jonah Malus 9. Richard Daniel 10. Reginald Davani 11. Selan
Elizah 14. Francis Moiyap16. Yanding Tomda
BENCH: 1. Tapas Posman 3. Enoch Abraham 4. Charlie Somasi 12. Michael Lohai
13. Elias Piawari 15. Alu Kamake 17. Ken Gule 18. Nasa Wangu 19. Steven Mali

Coach: S. Cain

Referee: Leone Rakaroi  (Fiji)
Assistant Referee 1: Malo Vaga (Samoa)
Assistant Referee 2: Gary Vuke (Vanuatu)
Fourth Official: Harry Attison (Vanuatu)

Match Commissioner: Armand Colombani (Tahiti)
Referee Inspector: Yves Taga (Vanuatu)

Crowd attendance: 1000 + approx
Weather: Gusty winds, rain at times, mostly showers with some sunny periods
Start time: 3:30pm