Make your own free website on
Australia 8 Fiji 0
Our Referees
Referee News
Becoming a Referee
Fixtures and Appointments
Laws of the Game
Contact Us
Register Name or Query

OFC Nations Cup 2002


Auckland, New Zealand 5-14 July

Match 12: Day Six (Wednesday 10 July)

Group A Ericsson Stadium

Final Score: Australia 8 Fiji 0

(Halftime: 4-0 Australia)


Lack of commitment upsets Fiji coach

By Peter Rees OFC Media Officer


Veteran Fiji coach Billy Singh expressed disappointment at the lack of commitment shown by his players as they were put to the sword by an efficient Australian team at Ericsson Stadium on Wednesday night.


The Socceroos inflicted one of the heaviest defeats Fiji has suffered scoring eight unanswered goals; young Joel Porter scoring four goals. With that victory, Australia easily takes out Group A honours and now advances to Fridays semi-final against Group B runner up Tahiti.


Singh indicated he may call it a day after a successful fifteen year reign, but told reporters at the after match press conference that the right candidate must be found first. Reports link former Australian coach Les Scheinflug to the job but that has yet to be confirmed.


However, Singh was searching for answers to his teams lacklustre performance. He said the players were provided incentives to win. He described the current team as better than the one that pushed the Socceroos close at last years World Cup Qualifiers, but the difference was last years team showed more commitment.


Singh admitted it had been hard to motivate the team after their loss to Vanuatu and especially after Vanuatu beat New Caledonia in the early match. That meant Fiji could not settle for a draw but had to win.


Captain Esala Masi was also disappointed with the teams performance and hinted a changing of the guard was on the cards if Fiji was to regain its status as the top island nation.


Frank Farina said the team was a different side to the one he faced last year and indicated that Singhs troops may have been deflated mentally after the loss to Vanuatu a few days earlier.


Again, he expressed satisfaction with the commitment of his players. The Socceroos have certainly ironed out any deficiencies exposed by Vanuatu in their first match and are going from strength to strength. On attack they are as clinical as a surgeons knife and on defence their goal has rarely been threatened.


On scoring four goals, Joel Porter said he was ecstatic with his performance and remarked it is a honour to be here.





5 min # 15 Ante Milicic (Aus)                                                

8 min # 8 Joel Porter (Aus)

13 min # 8 Joel Porter (Aus)

36 min - # 17 Ante Juric (Aus)

44 min - # 8 Joel Porter (Aus)

47 min - # 16 Paul Trimboli (Aus)

53 min - # 8 Joel Porter (Aus)

89 min - # 2 Fausto De Amicis (Aus)





45 min - # 4 Mehmed Durakovic for # 5 Steve Horvat

52 min - # 13 Milan Blagojevic for # 14 Angelo Costanzo

59 min - # 7 Robert Middleby for # 11 Scott Chipperfield



20 min - # 20 Luke Tavuyara for # 1 Laisenia Tuba

59 min - # 12 Esala Masi for # 9 Junior Bukalidi

68 min - # 8 Emosi Baleinuku for # 17 Malakai Kainihewe



12 min - # 18 Veresa Toma (Fiji)


Team Lists:

Australia: 1. Jason Petkovic 2. Fausto De Amicis 5. Steve Horvat 6. Patrick Kisnorbo 8. Joel Porter 11. Scott Chipperfield 12. Tom Pondeljak 14. Angelo Costanzo 15. Ante Milicic 16. Paul Trimboli 17. Ante Juric

BENCH: 3. Jade North 4. Mehmed Durakovic 7. Robert Middleby 9. Damian Mori 10. Bobby Depotovski 13. Milan Blagojevic 18. Dean Anastasiadis


Coach: Frank Farina


Fiji: 1. Laisenia Tuba 2. Viliame Toma 4. Seveci Rokotakala 5. Valerio Nasema 7. Manoa Masi 9. Junior Bukalidi 10. Keni Doidoi 11. Lorima Dau 13. Meli Delai 15. Stewart Bola 17. Malakai Kainihewe 18. Veresa Toma

BENCH: 3. Ovini Duguca 6. Thomas Robert 8. Emosi Baleinuku 11. Lorima Dau 12. Esala Masi 16. Apenisa Qereqeretabua 19. Sailesh Samy Bula 20. Luke Tavuyara


Coach: Billy Singh


Referee: Joakim Sosongan (PNG)

Assistant Referee 1: John Berry (New Zealand)

Assistant Referee 2: Gray Vuke (Vanuatu)

Fourth Official: Derek Rugg (New Zealand)


Match Commissioner: Lee Harmon (Cook Islands)

Referee Inspector: Hari Naicker (Fiji)


Crowd: 1000 +

Weather: Fine evening

Start time: 7:30pm